I’m loving the warmer weather but….

……where did the path go?

I seem to be doing a lot of this lately.

  The snow is melting fast in Edmonton and leaving behind creeks and ponds of meltwater to cover the urban landscape. I’ve been riding through it for a few days now and this might be my least favourite part of cycling through the winter.  A soggy commute home is followed by morning icefields after the temperature drops overnight. My powertrain has been freezing up each night and was so bad Saturday morning that I had to bring the bike into the house and thaw the chain with a hairdryer. I guess I’ll have to bring it into the house overnight for the next while. I was chatting with a fellow at the farmer’s market yesterday who was riding a Trek Soho with an internally geared hub and belt drive. That seems like a pretty good idea right about now.
3 thoughts on “I’m loving the warmer weather but….

  1. I can’t believe how bad the LRT bike path is getting, and to add insult to injury, my 8 speed IGH, that has worked flawlessly all winter, suddenly conked out yesterday, leaving me to ride home in a single, too-high gear. I blame freeze-thaw, and like you, cannot wait ’til this part of winter (spring?) is over.

    Like

    • Oops! I only just noticed your comment.

      The attachment is for clipping a flashlight onto the bars. It’s a $2.00 gizmo that works great. There are lots of powerful LED flashlights that are cheaper than bike specific lights of similar power. However, I am going to use it for a DIY high power headlight that I’m going to wire up sometime soon.

      The splash photo is much more fun to look at than it was to take. After I rode through the lake once I was soaked so I rode though it 3 more times until I got a good picture.

      Like

Leave a Reply

