Winter Bike Parking in Edmonton

As a year round commuting cyclist, poor winter maintenance of  bike parking locations is something I should probably be annoyed about. It’s true that a lot of businesses seem to regard the bike rack as the logical place to dump the snow they shovel from walkways. After all, nobody cycles in winter. If they do, they’re probably crazy enough that you don’t want them wandering into your retail establishment.

In practice, it doesn’t usually bother me. There actually are less cyclists competing for rack space in the winter so I can usually manage to find a spot.

There should be no expectation of finding statistical significance in the contents of this blog post. My sample size is a whopping four parking locations that correspond to the times that I actually had my camera with me and I remembered to take a photo.

Save-On Foods (112 Ave and 82  St.) This is a hilariously perfect example. A completely snow free walkway and a buried rack. It actually as not been a problem, as there is enough room for two bikes at the rack, and I've never seen even one other.

Save-On Foods (112 Ave and 82 St.) This is a hilariously perfect example. A completely snow free walkway and a buried rack. It actually hasn’t been a problem, as there is enough room for two bikes at the rack, and I’ve never seen even one other.

Strathcona Farmer's Market. This one is a bit disappointing. I expect better of  Farmer's Market. Even in the winter there are usually a number of bikes parked outside. They should do a better job of keeping this rack free of snow.

Strathcona Farmer’s Market. This one is a bit disappointing. I expect better of Farmer’s Market. Even in the winter there are usually a number of bikes parked outside (such as the nifty Peugeot and Kuwahara seen here in the front). They should do a better job of keeping this rack free of snow.

Value Village  (Whyte Ave location). This one is pretty bad. The rack is one of the low ones and it's been covered almost completely. I locked my bike to the pole.

Value Village (Whyte Ave location). This one is pretty bad. The rack is one of the low ones and it’s been covered almost completely. I locked my bike to the pole. On the other hand, at least they have a rack, unlike the northside location.

Safeway (118th Ave & 82 St.) My local grocery  store is  the surprise winner in my small survey. The bike rack is always free of snow and has the bonus of being well lit and close to the doors. Congrats  Safeway! You get the Tuckamoredew Bike Parking Seal of Approval.

Safeway (118th Ave & 82 St.) My local grocery store is the surprise winner in my small survey. The bike rack is always free of snow and has the bonus of being well lit and close to the doors. Congrats Safeway! You get the Tuckamoredew Bike Parking Seal of Approval.

8 thoughts on “Winter Bike Parking in Edmonton

  1. Yup! Just like the Winnipeg Public Library rack that is completely full of snow… and my rack at work, but the cyclists here keep it clean after the snow crew clears the rest of the parking lot.

    Like

  2. I am sympathetic to city snow removal teams, given the huge amounts of snow that must be put somewhere. Growing up in upstate NY, I recall snow banks reaching almost to the electrical wires. It’s a lot of snow, is what I’m saying, and it’s certainly difficult to get it out of everyone’s way. Kudos to Safeway, who somehow managed to find a way.

    Like

  3. Well…
    I think most of my fellow Edmontonians appreciate the work the snow clearing teams do. I always give the workers a thank you wave when I pass them on the multi-use trails.
    But…
    I can’t agree with your implication that the amount of snow fall excuses covering the racks. The square footage of rack space is minuscule compared to area that we routinely clear from our homes, workplaces and public spaces. We have well developed strategies for moving snow or removing it to other locations.Covering the racks simply reflects the attitude that nobody (except fringe dwelling loonies) use them in winter.There is a measure of truth in this assumption, so I am not inclined to often be grumpy about the buried racks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

